(Poly Gerneral) poly doesn’t mean rejecting love


“being polyamorous means you don’t have to resist saying ‘i love you’ to somebody you really care about. just a thought.”

This quote is from one of the many internet communities I am a part of. It struck home because people often say being poly means you don’t love anyone you are with and if you manage to love that person you can’t admit to it or you ruin the dynamic of the relationship.

I believe that poly is another type of valid relationship structure just like monogamy. Yet it is because of this curious belief, that you can’t love more than one person, that many don’t believe being poly is more than hormones and sex.

If your partners will be upset for you saying “I love you” to someone, then they will be upset if you show it. But if they love you, they will in fact understand.

One Comment

  1. “being polyamorous means you don’t have to resist saying ‘i love you’ to somebody you really care about. just a thought.”

    Hense why I haven’t been in a monogamous relationship in over 4 yrs. At the ending of my last mono relationship I realized that I wanted to call up an old friend (female) whom I’d had a close relationship, just to see how she was doing…nothing more than that, because I loved her…but to do that went against the monogamous agreement. Dishonesty-rampant, yes. But after that day, I decided that I would not do that to my friends/lovers (to myself) ever again, to be “limited” “censored”. 😦

    Reply

Discuss

